AVAILABLE NOW IN HARDBACK AND AUDIO!

EndoftheWorld_RGB7.jpg

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he’s prepping to survive–whether his friends believe him or not–in this middle grade novel for readers of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos.

Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he’s prepared: he’s got plenty of food, he’s fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he’s building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn’t think it’s such a good idea. Misty’s just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick’s: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick’s doomsday fears just keep getting worse. And Derrick’s promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive–especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.

Praise for IT’S THE END OF THE WORLD AS I KNOW IT

A Junior Library Guild 2019 Selection

“Flawless eighth-grade voices and awkwardness. . . . [Landis] gets that kids have deep motions even if they don’t want to admit to them.” —Booklist

“Humorous and exceptionally realistic . . . Simultaneously funny, quirky, and raw, this emotionally impactful look at loss is sure to find a wide audience. Recommended for all collections.”School Library Journal, starred review

"A sympathetic and even sometimes funny look at anxiety disorders and the complexity of grief. . . . The terrifying allure of survivalism makes this journey through trauma a compelling one.” Kirkus Reviews

“[Derrick’s] relationship with Misty, who after a kidney transplant is as determined to court experiences as [Derrick] is to flee from them, adds a dimension that’s lively but also more deeply relevant than his narration admits; his kind but perplexed goofball guy friends (including one proud owner of a live-mice-eating snake) are endearing. . . . [Derrick’s] grief and anxiety will speak to many kids.” —BCCB


THE NOT-SO-BORING LETTERS OF PRIVATE NOBODY

Twelve-year-old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War. He knows everything about it: the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies. So when the last assignment of seventh-grade history is a project on the Civil War, Oliver is over the moon--until he's partnered with Ella Berry, the slacker girl with the messy hair who does nothing but stare out the window. And when Oliver finds out they have to research a random soldier named Private Raymond Stone who didn't even fight in any battles before dying of some boring disease, Oliver knows he's doomed. 

But Ella turns out to be very different from what Oliver expected. As the partners film their documentary about Private Stone--with Oliver's friend Kevin signing on as their head writing consultant--Oliver discovers that sometimes the most interesting things are hiding in uninteresting places. Even Private Stone is better than expected: There's a mystery buried in his past, and Oliver knows he can figure it out.

 
Private Nobody Final Paperback.jpg

Praise for PRIVATE NOBODY

"Matthew Landis depicts the world of middle school with laser-like clarity, big-hearted warmth, and abundant humor...I wish I were still teaching just so I could hand this book to my favorite students."

          — Jordan Sonnenblick, Schneider Family Book Award winning author of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

"...The best kind of time travel as past and present cross-dissolve."

         — Richard Peck, Newbery Medal-winning author of A Year Down Yonder

"An American history educator's dream novel."

         — School Library Connection

"Teacher Landis knows how middle schoolers work, and he shows his skills here."

         — Kirkus Reviews


THE JOKERS

coming spring 2021 from dial/penguin

Ronny Russo isn’t having the best seventh-grade year: His dad lost his job, his family lost their home, and he’s about to lose his best friend/funniest-person-ever, Jo Ramos, to a private school. Oh—and he’s drowning in Learning Support classes due to some streaky ADHD. But when his school launches a new talent show format, Ronny enters with a stand-up comedy act to try and bring the joy back to his life. There’s only one problem: Ronny isn’t funny.

With his trademark humor and heart, Landis’s third novel in The Kennesaw Chronicle series highlights another authentic story about the middle school kids he works with every day as a full-time teacher. Perfect for fans of Jack Gantos, Gordon Kormon, and Jordan Sonnenblick, THE JOKERS is about how humor can lead you home.


LEAGUE OF AMERICAN TRAITORS

When seventeen year-old Jasper is approached at the funeral of his deadbeat father by a man claiming to be an associate of his deceased parents, he’s thrust into a world of secrets tied to America’s history—and he’s right at the heart of it.

First, Jasper finds out he is the sole surviving descendant of Benedict Arnold, the most notorious traitor in American history. Then he learns that his father’s death was no accident. Jasper is at the center of a war that has been going on for centuries, in which the descendants of the heroes and traitors of the American Revolution still duel to the death for the sake of their honor.

His only hope to escape his dangerous fate on his eighteenth birthday? Take up the research his father was pursuing at the time of his death, to clear Arnold’s name. 

Whisked off to a boarding school populated by other descendants of notorious American traitors, it’s a race to discover the truth. But if Jasper doesn’t find a way to uncover the evidence his father was hunting for, he may end up paying for the sins of his forefathers with his own life.

Like a mash-up of National Treasure and Hamilton, Matthew Landis’s debut spins the what-ifs of American history into a heart-pounding thriller steeped in conspiracy, clue hunting, and danger.

praise for LEAGUE OF AMERICAN TRAITORS

"National Treasure meets Hamilton...Landis's book will give you the punchy, suspenseful dose of our nation's past you've been desperate for."

          Bustle Magazine

"An unputdownable modern-day thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown."

         — Lynne Matson, best-selling author of the NIL Trilogy

"Criminally clever and wickedly funny."

         — Tiffany Schmidt, author of Once Upon A Crime Family series

"League of American Traitors packs adventure, humor, and a conspiracy-laced dose of American history into a three-shot duel."

         — Kristen Lippert-Martin, ITW Finalist for Tabula Rasa