Summary

Twelve-year-old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War. He knows everything about it: the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies. So when the last assignment of seventh-grade history is a project on the Civil War, Oliver is over the moon--until he's partnered with Ella Berry, the slacker girl with the messy hair who does nothing but stare out the window. And when Oliver finds out they have to research a random soldier named Private Raymond Stone who didn't even fight in any battles before dying of some boring disease, Oliver knows he's doomed. 

But Ella turns out to be very different from what Oliver expected. As the partners film their documentary about Private Stone--with Oliver's friend Kevin signing on as their head writing consultant--Oliver discovers that sometimes the most interesting things are hiding in uninteresting places. Even Private Stone is better than expected: There's a mystery buried in his past, and Oliver knows he can figure it out.

 
Private Nobody Final Paperback.jpg

PAPERBACK!

COMING SEPTEMBER 19

Praise for PRIVATE NOBODY

"Matthew Landis depicts the world of middle school with laser-like clarity, big-hearted warmth, and abundant humor...I wish I were still teaching just so I could hand this book to my favorite students."

          — Jordan Sonnenblick, Schneider Family Book Award winning author of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

"...The best kind of time travel as past and present cross-dissolve."

         — Richard Peck, Newbery Medal-winning author of A Year Down Yonder

"An American history educator's dream novel."

         — School Library Connection

"Teacher Landis knows how middle schoolers work, and he shows his skills here."

         — Kirkus Reviews


COMING SEPTEMBER 24TH!

EndoftheWorld_RGB7.jpg

Derrick is sure that doomsday is coming, and he’s prepping to survive–whether his friends believe him or not–in this middle grade novel for readers of Gary Schmidt, Gordon Korman, and Jack Gantos

Ever since his mother was killed in the line of duty in Iraq, Derrick has been absolutely certain that the apocalypse is coming. And he’s prepared: he’s got plenty of food, he’s fully outfitted with HAZMAT suits, and he’s building himself a sturdy fallout shelter. When his neighbor Misty insists on helping with the shelter, Derrick doesn’t think it’s such a good idea. Misty’s just had a kidney transplant, and her reaction to her brush with death is the opposite of Derrick’s: where Derrick wants to hide, Misty wants to see and do everything. But as confident as Misty is, Derrick’s doomsday fears just keep getting worse. And Derrick’s promised apocalypse day begins with a very strange disaster, Derrick and Misty have to figure out a way to survive–especially when the end of the world as they know it looks nothing like they expected.


summary

When seventeen year-old Jasper is approached at the funeral of his deadbeat father by a man claiming to be an associate of his deceased parents, he’s thrust into a world of secrets tied to America’s history—and he’s right at the heart of it.

First, Jasper finds out he is the sole surviving descendant of Benedict Arnold, the most notorious traitor in American history. Then he learns that his father’s death was no accident. Jasper is at the center of a war that has been going on for centuries, in which the descendants of the heroes and traitors of the American Revolution still duel to the death for the sake of their honor.

His only hope to escape his dangerous fate on his eighteenth birthday? Take up the research his father was pursuing at the time of his death, to clear Arnold’s name. 

Whisked off to a boarding school populated by other descendants of notorious American traitors, it’s a race to discover the truth. But if Jasper doesn’t find a way to uncover the evidence his father was hunting for, he may end up paying for the sins of his forefathers with his own life.

Like a mash-up of National Treasure and Hamilton, Matthew Landis’s debut spins the what-ifs of American history into a heart-pounding thriller steeped in conspiracy, clue hunting, and danger.

praise for LEAGUE OF AMERICAN TRAITORS

"National Treasure meets Hamilton...Landis's book will give you the punchy, suspenseful dose of our nation's past you've been desperate for."

          Bustle Magazine

"An unputdownable modern-day thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown."

         — Lynne Matson, best-selling author of the NIL Trilogy

"Criminally clever and wickedly funny."

         — Tiffany Schmidt, author of Once Upon A Crime Family series

"League of American Traitors packs adventure, humor, and a conspiracy-laced dose of American history into a three-shot duel."

         — Kristen Lippert-Martin, ITW Finalist for Tabula Rasa